Its that time of the year again..

16 01 2009

Here’s how the gtalk status of one of my friends’ read on Jan 1st. “New year much more than change of last part of date. It means a new start, taking all +ves from 2008 to 2009 and leaving behind any -ves. It means defining new objectives for next 365 days along with redefining life goals. Lets take this opportunity and redefine life…in a new way.” I kind of loved it! Written on Jan 1st, this post is the gift of those nights which doesn’t come too often.

The night of Dec 31st and the Day of Jan 1st kind of runs on a slow momentum, at least for me. I had the most beautiful night of 2008 on 31st Dec and a marvelous day of Jan 1st this year as I dreamed on with open eyes. It felt as if the time has paused again to collate, garner and chew on the big things that happened in 2008 and dream up a whole lot of new things to get geared for 2009. Yes! Its that time of the year again to dream of those things called resolutions and try measuring how long would I sustain them in spirit and action. I love this tradition of New Year, the whole exercise of planning my own new laundry list of things to look forward to for the whole year. πŸ™‚

Some personal goals, some small ambitions, some aspirations and a whole lot of wish lists.. They did make my action packed January. Action points and deadlines do pack a great deal of kick in them. I just love the immense satisfaction they leave behind as they fly by as per their schedule.

Here’s is how my laundry list looks like at this moment:
On the personal side,
A fitter me – Now don’t suspect this as an euphemism for ‘weight loss’. I have never got around achieving that goal of 50 something. πŸ™‚ Yet, this wish is more to gift myself a more ‘energetic, dynamic and an enthusiastic’ me, which I could only prove to myself by my activity, long walks, treks and energy levels. Am planning to trek once a month, walk to office once a week and revive those old long walks.

An Organized Self – Well, I fare like an average grader in keeping myself organized. Somehow, yet I still believe that every 5 mins spent in organizing stuff, saves an hour later. I don’t know how to track this goal, but I am planning to list out action points to track under each of these BHAG (Big, Hairy, Audacious Goals – one of those management lingo fallback).

A Domestic Me – Now, before you laugh your way out, give me a minute. This is important stuff for a bacheloress at 25, who is tired of eating out for about 9 years now. I have been such a depressingly pessimistic about my culinary skills so far that I often miss the basic and key ingredients (read salt) to create potentially disastrous homegrown recipes at home. Also, I guess its this strong sense to play that homebody and belong to somewhere that’s taking me over. So, this time the agenda includes me paying attention to home, kitchen and the domesticity overall. πŸ™‚

Professionally:
Grooming those All rounder skills – To think on some specifics, I want to work on details, and train myself on the details on financials and operations which are essential for running business. Since, my new role is cross functional, I am hoping to capitalize on that expose to improvise on those skills

Learning more balance – call it work-life balance, or better time/stress/work management, I want to create that fine line between the personal and professional self and balance both of them with equal passion. Yes, I want to develop passion out of personal life, yet maintain passionate balance in work.

Spiritual
Mastery over self – If there is one quality that I want to add to myself this year, that’s discipline and rigor. Am more of a person who lives life day a time, and hence is mellowed and flexible like the water in many things. Yet, sometimes I strongly feel the need for some rigorous focus and discipline in adhering to those small little choices of life.

Wish me luck as I try to sustain these tiny little ambitions through out this year. πŸ™‚


Actions

Information

4 responses

17 01 2009
Rambler

Mastery over self..I read this and I thought..ooh this can be a lifetime goal..but glad to see how you see mastery over self as..really achievable..

btw fitter me..sounds familiar to me πŸ™‚

18 01 2009
Joyeeta

Wish you all the luck and the best of wishes dear Rani…I am so happy to see you back again!
Not only will you be able to accomplish this list but a lot more by the end of 2009…just dont lose focus!!! πŸ™‚

18 01 2009
nrsl

@ Rambler
Agreed wholeheartedly, it is a life time goal.. πŸ™‚ Idealistic, yet tempts me to keep my focus on. πŸ™‚

@ Joyeeta
Thanks for the lovely wishes. Hope they come true. πŸ™‚

21 01 2009
Vamsi

“Wish me luck as I try to sustain these tiny little ambitions through out this year.”

Tiny little? Either it’s a gross understatement of the year or you are a super human being πŸ™‚ Either that or your are not a lazy person like me πŸ™‚

-Vamsi

Leave a Reply

