Something Amiss..

13 07 2008

As a sheer wave of nostalgia hits me in this sunny Sunday afternoon, I couldn’t help but muse on all those lovely moments of my life.. Yes, Indeed I miss

  • Those Hasty Bicycle rides to School
  • Climbing Guava and Mango trees in search of sweet temptations
  • Those Hide and Seek Games that filled lazy afternoons
  • Summer Time.. Umm.. Mango eating competitions in the village backyards.. Yummy!
  • Hosting Bicycle Championships around the village roads
  • Inventing creative reasons for missing classes
  • Those innocent dreams of Ramayan, Snakes and Shaktiman
  • Those days of ‘Chitrahaar’ and ”Doordarshan’ sans remote control
  • Bending rules with childhood pals, my partners in crime
  • Those summer rains and the lighthearted frolic on the terrace
  • The sheer joy of growing up, and the academic rigmarole

Umm.. How I long for a little drizzle of joy or a time machine… Suddenly this whole business of playing the adult isn’t that appealing any more.


Actions

Information

9 responses

13 07 2008
Rambler

“The sheer joy of growing up, and the academic rigmarole”
oh I miss this the most

14 07 2008
Joyeeta

Lovely…
What I miss the most is being totally careless n carefree and after each reprimand session by mom or grandmom on how girls should behave, again getting back to being the same and still be loved the same!! πŸ™‚

14 07 2008
nrsl

@ Rambler
πŸ™‚ Somehow often I am tempted to be back to school..
@ Joyeeta
Those carefree days of naughty adventures.. I miss them too..

16 07 2008
Sathish

We can still do those…. πŸ™‚ … We can… πŸ™‚

24 07 2008
Rasika

Life has been so busy that I don’t even get time to think about my childhood… this blog brought back my memories… very nice post.

25 07 2008
nrsl

@ Sathish
The activities might remain the same, yet the experience changes. I love the emphasis in your comment though! πŸ˜‰

@ Rasika
Thankyou.

30 07 2008
BlueMist

until you lose the chance of having “summer vacation” you won’t realise the importance of them.
its a pradox; when you are child you dream of growing up and having job and when you have grown up you reminensce the childhood days !!

31 07 2008
nrsl

@ BlueMist
Well said! When I was about to join corporate world, I asked then when would summer vacation be.. πŸ™‚ I still can’t forget that moment, which raised a load of laughs..

13 02 2009
Madhav

Nice post !

Leave a Reply

