Love Hath Neither Limit Nor Reason…

17 06 2008

For love lies in that irrational tear that swells in your eye in those moments of goodbye even when mind acknowledges that she is never far in those lingering thoughts, or gentle phone calls. That’s the feeling that lingers in mind after some great moments of companionship with my little sis in Bangalore. And thats the reason for these ten days of hiatus from virtual world too, for being with her rarely leaves me with brooding moments. Now that she has left to home town, and I have to grapple with this aching hollow in my heart, I can’t help but muse on those mundane days that I spent with her which are turned into wonderful moments by her sheer presence. She is my partner in crime in those silly adventures, a perfect companion in silence when the mood calls for soothing numbness, a quiet bolster in raw moments of pain, a dearest pal and confidante for sharing those secrets and introspections, and the best gift that God has offered me in life.

As I have seen her grow from that little bundle of joy in my arms to a smart and mature lady, I can only cherish all those tender moments of the fierce relationship that we share. Probably the beauty of this lies in that tacit acceptance of one as oneself in each other’s company, or that sheer intensity of that love and affection that springs from an eternal bond that unites us in rain and shine, or that quiet companionship and gentle bliss that envelops one in that secured cloak of love, and respect. I may not figure in those lists of greatest sisters of the world, for my sins are many, right from being absent in those moments when she wished my presence to missing her birthday due to a hailstorm of work, yet if there is one thing that I have to site as one perfect truth of my life, it’s that she is the best thing that has ever happened to me in my life. Whatever heights she may conquer, she would still remain that little sweet kiddo who creates that warm glow at heart with her cheerful presence.

********************************************

Somehow, whenever I think of her, CR’s this post plays in mind. After hunting this poem umpteen times in her blog, I am posting it here to cherish it a little more.

You’re older now
And no more the kid that I call you,
In many ways, more mature than I could ever be
Perhaps it’s the way of life
That an elder sibling be so lost and awestruck
With the hustle and bustle around
That she needs that smarter kid
Tugging her along and protecting her
From the surprises on the road ahead.

I smile when people point you out to me
And admit that they thought you were older
For the simple reason, you have always seemed so dignified and in control,
Little did they see the little hellion and scamp
That I saw while growing up,
The little one always so in scrapes
And yet, one who would rush to my rescue

Trying to pry me away from books to introduce me to the world,
I know that now you too belong among us bibliophiles,
And as I have changed you,
You have changed my nature,
Taught me independence and confidence when the stakes are down
That little strut that adds to the image
Keeping my head high even when the dice is rolling

You have taught me to love and forgive
And perhaps, most important of all,
You have taught me humility,
For one year is all that parts us,
And yet, you are so much the wiser
That I still have so much to learn

But now, more than ever
I want to weave a cocoon around you
And hold you close and keep you safe,
But that would only hamper your flight
And I know I must step back
And watch and learn as you take your steps
And leave your mark on all around,
I love you, kiddo
And have a safe flight this year!!!


Actions

Information

6 responses

18 06 2008
chennairamblings

Little sisters are the very devils aren’t they?
Yet, we cannot do without them. They simply become our world instead.
I forget every poem I write the minute it is down and I had forgotten this one too. Thank you for reminding me of this 🙂

18 06 2008
nrsl

@ CR Agreed dear, I count my blessings whenever my sis is around. 🙂 I lost count of how many times I searched this in ur site in those moments of nostalgia. 🙂

18 06 2008
joyeetamajumdar

That came straight from the heart…blessed is anyone to receive such warmth and blessed is the soul that’s filled with so much love!
Love definitely is pure energy that knows no boundaries of time or space…be it in any form.

20 06 2008
Vamsi

So I guess Lasya is your sis?

22 06 2008
ctone

ya… lil sis are always devils.. still my sis loves to kick me.. ofcourse i love her kicking me now and then… 🙂 As iam reading this posting.. So many memories rolled foreward and backward… iam truly blessed.. 🙂

23 06 2008
nrsl

@ Joyeetha
Agreed. 🙂 Thank you.
@ Vamsi
Yes.
@ ctone
*Smiles*

Leave a Reply

