The Doors of Perception…

18 12 2007

Guess through sheer luck I came across this book called ‘The Doors Of Perception’ by Aldous Huxley. I am amazed by the depth of insights it houses. Sample these..

“If the doors of perception were cleansed every thing would appear to man as it is, infinite. For man has closed himself up, till he sees all things through narrow chinks of his cavern. “

I can actually relate to what it says. There was this session where we are asked to jump over a six feet wall without a bit of support. I went, I saw and then said, there is no way I can do it. And I actually saw people with 5 feet or less height jumping over it with relative ease, after some mental training and exploring their fears and perceptions. Guess we are limited by our beliefs and perceptions which we cultivate and develop since birth. Constant challenges are needed to unsettle that Phoenix locked inside the Jean ( a visualization that I cant seem to resist from the X-Men3, the last stand fame) to be aware of our limitations and potential of what we can be.

On a closing note, let me share this beautifully stated quote from this book again.

“We live together, we act on, and react to, one another; but always and in all circumstances we are by ourselves. The martyrs go hand in hand into the arena; they are crucified alone. Embraced, the lovers desperately try to fuse their insulated ecstasies into a single self-transcendence; in vain. By its very nature every embodied spirit is doomed to suffer and enjoy in solitude. Sensations, feelings, insights, fancies — all these are private and, except through symbols and at second hand, incommunicable. We can pool information about experiences, but never experiences themselves. From family to nation, every human group is a society of island universes.”


Actions

Information

7 responses

18 12 2007
Salz

Dont use such BIG BIG words 😦

18 12 2007
saij20

more gyan my eyeballs are melting…..and some black stuff is oozing out of the hollows of what used to be my eyes….lol jus kidding kid… [;)]

19 12 2007
chennairamblings

Great quote from a great author.
We venture alone, while there might be fellow travellers on the road with us, we still need to walk on it using our feet. And while we can garner sympathy over the blisters that have appeared due to the travails faced on the road, and these fellow travellers may help by putting some salves on our feet, it is up to us to make a move again and go ahead…

19 12 2007
nrsl

@ Salz
U hv to bear with me at times. πŸ™‚
@ Sai
Looks like I caught you in one of those moods. πŸ™‚
@ CR
Agreed. Paths/experiences are made by venturing alone and taking that first guarded/carefree steps. We got to stand by our own selves.

16 01 2008
Moo

The books name is a quote from the English poet William Blakes work
The Marriage of Heaven & Hell. Check it out, he was an artist & a poet.

17 01 2008
nrsl

@ Moo
I checked it out. Thanks for the reference. πŸ™‚

7 08 2009
sweet!

I’m excited about this book, but also confused…I think I found an online version but it seems too short (26 pages). Can anyone tell me if it’s the real thing or am I making a fool out of myself here? Don’t send me to the library, they don’t have it in my town πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

