Who Said Resignation Is Easy?

30 07 2007

It did take a lot of struggle, loads of head and heart ache, countless gyan sessions to melt that idea of dream job away. And finally the matter is decided in perfect solitude, over a cuppa, away from the noises of the world, throwing caution and comfort zone out of window.. And thus the event happened out of an instinct! Thanks to a few great pals in TCS, I got my release almost immediately and here I am, back at my easy chair, relishing rare days of unemployment at home before I head to join Accenture in Bangalore..

Goodbyes have always felt awkward and sentimental for me since ages. Its none so different this time. Its so tough to handle them for, I believe that people who matter are never far and those who don’t were never in the picture anyways. Yet, there are things, places, and patterns that can grow on you.. I managed somehow to break free out of it..

When I came to work at TCS, its like a dream come true. Working for Tata Group has always been a cherished idea for me. Guess I fell in love the engaging company culture, quality of work life and especially the down to earth and casual air of the people here. I loved what I did for an year and half.. Yet, there is this nagging need for change, and a persistant sense of direction which provoked me to take a detached view of the career and life in front of me. Finally patience didn’t do the trick. TCS is a great company, yet there aren’t many opportunities that came my way in the area that I choose to be. I am not exactly thrilled by my decision, yet sometimes, I guess its ok to say ‘I have to’ for reasons unknown even to oneself.

All is well in the end. I have had quite a bit of learning by living through this experience of uncertainity. I have made new friends, changed some relationships, gleaned whatever I could and I moved on, away from Chennai: a city which I called home for two years and far from TCS: my first love in the dream company list. No regrets apparently!


Actions

Information

9 responses

2 08 2007
The village idiot

A fellow entrepreneur in the making? Or another statistic in the unemployment books?… πŸ˜‰
Cheers mate!

3 08 2007
satts

No problemo nrsl………where ever you are the signal will follow you

3 08 2007
Raji

Enjoy these days
There are too few of them around
Good Luck with your new job and you are going to a great city, am sure you will enjoy it there πŸ™‚

6 08 2007
krishashok

Wish you the best of luck πŸ™‚

10 08 2007
steve

hi Nrsl…..i likeded your writting about Rajahmundry. i had been there last month. Good to know u.

10 08 2007
Saish

Resignation to me was damn easy. Prob one’s experiences in the company decide your direction.

Njoi the unemployed life for few day and Best of luck for the Future.

15 08 2007
Arti

I can understand some of the things which you are referring too… πŸ˜‰

18 08 2007
Karteek

Hi Sowmya .. Hows life in Accenture now ? Any different from TCS ?

18 02 2010
shoaib

http://omidnoor.blogspot.com/
found this recently..

Leave a Reply

