Revisiting Childhood!

14 05 2007

My entire weekend can be termed under one phrase: “Sheer Bliss”! I spent the best part of my weekend at Kuppa Metta Kandriga, which is located at the Andhra Pradesh and Tamilnadu border, almost 14 kilometers away from a small village called Nagari. This trip is a impromptu one, and I went in as a willing companion to my mother who wanted to visit her childhood friends and relatives located over there.

We caught a bus (#201) at CMBT in Chennai to go to Nagari which is some 2 hours journey and then boarded an auto arranged by my uncle to go to his Farm House. Thankfully, there is a decent cement road laid to connect those remote areas.. My childhood impressions prepared me for horse carts and I am delighted to trade it for an Auto rickshaw. I still remember those insensitive days when the cart driver used pepper powder on the eyes of the horse to make it carry heavy load in 1990s. 😦 Already, there is nostalgia setting in my mind and I longed for an escape into the simplistic life of the villages!

Well, how to you feel if you land up in an isolated place where you see greenery everywhere and there isn’t a single man made concrete building around for miles? I got more than I bargained for. I got joy, contentment, elation, solitude and peace! This farmhouse is set in sugarcane plantations and is filled with sunlight, fresh air and space. Their house is surrounded by lavish opulence of dangling beauties like jasmines, cosmos, frangipanis, periwinkles and firecrackers (kanakambaram) basking in glorious sunshine only to be competed by those Mango, Coconut, Guava and Pomegranate trees offering ripe temptations.. I had innocent elation at discovering the livestock. There were cattle, and pet dogs. I had a dewy-eyed pleasure in feeding cattle, taking calves for walk, and playing with dogs.

The beauty of the place is enhanced by the sounds of silence: rustling of the trees, buzzing of the leaves, soft cooing of the birds and the faint tinging of the bells. I wandered like a spoilt child, discovering delight everywhere, uncared for the hot sun.. I just loved those ornate cement floors, archaic concrete bath tubs, that gushing pump set by the old well, and that black and white television at their home.. I loved the night even more. Ensconced in natural air conditioning, admiring the star-lit skies and the shimmering glow worms, all I could think of is ‘Contentment’. It kind of transported me back into childhood and I was fourteen again!


Actions

Information

3 responses

15 05 2007
Padma/rema

well, thats contentment indeed!! thank u for that beautiful decription of ur village. makes me impatient to get done with my examz and hide in my holiday retreat. u realize how much of life u r missing only when u visit a village. u know how much of vanity and corrupterd ideals u let urselves steep in when u look at the simple idealistic life of the villagers. though in a village i sometimes may crave for the amenities of modern life, it is a moment which i long to last for all eternity.

15 05 2007
Padma/rema

by the way, had some doubts to clear. can u tell me what periwinkles are? do u now the tamil or malayalam equivalent of it. also frangipani. i have heard abt it.

16 05 2007
nrsl

Periwinkles are called Billaganneru (Telugu) or nithyakalyani (Tamil). Frangipani flowers evoke fond memories of temples and poojas for me. 🙂 Guess they are called Champa in Hindi and Perungalli in Tamil. Wish you best for your holiday retreat! Hope it would be filled with joy and mirth!

Leave a Reply

