An Eventful Trip To Hyderabad..

9 04 2008

Well, the reason for the over-the-long-weekend Hyderabad trip is basically nothing, apart from the fact that I ran out of creative ideas to kill three days at a stretch in Bangalore. This trip was a sheer product of dread at ruining a nice holiday with the idiot box and some insipid novels (the bibliophile in me is suffering from acute dearth of intellectual stamina).

I spent my time with friends, discovering what has changed in them and what hasn’t changed in Hyderabad, apologizing at times rather earnestly on why I couldn’t make it to their weddings/ engagements, handling over belated wedding presents, checking out remote areas like Bala Nagar and Suchitra, meeting a couple of online pals for the very first time, watching a couple of movies for IMAX and City Planet sake, taking a long walk at General Bazaar during a light drizzle, driving around the city on one good old engineering times lady bike of my pal wearing a helmet, and in free time hogging Paradise Biryanies and Irani Chaies.

Tankbund @ Hyderabad..
There are some uninvited realizations and lessons too. I realized that I lost a piece of the gullible me when I couldn’t trust an autowalah on face value. Especially when my suspicion proved right. I realized that I needed to be more assertive, when someone asked me to pay a price for companionship. I realized that people change and especially when you meet pals after a gap of some years my mental image of them won’t fit with what they currently are. And, I could shed some biases and prejudices that I nursed of Hyderabad, for I realized that at heart I do like the larger than life attitude of the city.

This short trip to Hyderabad proved out to be quite eventful. Indeed.


Actions

Information

3 responses

12 04 2008
susheel

I have been reading your blog page…Beleive me I think its Superb…Keep up the good work….I enjoy reading what you write and look forward to read much from from you…

14 04 2008
saij20

and thanks for my historical tome dear…..i loved all those few minutes i got with you….

15 04 2008
nrsl

@ susheel
Thank you.
@ sai
U’re welcome! T’was good meeting you after long time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

